Loddon Mallee Profile

The Loddon Mallee region (LMR) is the region in Victoria covered by 10 Local Government Areas (LGAs). These LGAs are Buloke Shire, Campaspe Shire, Central Goldfields Shire, Gannawarra Shire, City of Greater Bendigo, Loddon Shire, Macedon Ranges Shire, Rural City of Mildura, Mount Alexander Shire, and Rural City of Swan Hill.


Approximately 331,000 people live in the LMR. This means that approximately 5% of Victoria’s population resides in over a quarter of the state’s area. The LMR population is concentrated around the south of the region in Bendigo and the Macedon Ranges. Mildura is also a significant population centre and is the regional hub for several remote locations. People with cancer and their carers may utilise urgent care, acute beds, and community-based programs in the smaller services and specialist cancer services in the larger services.

Statistical Data from across the Loddon Mallee Region


  • Should you wish to find more information about the incidence of cancer and by tumour stream, prevalence or the type of cancer services provided in the region, please visit the latest LMICS Annual Report 2017-18